Andrew van den Houten & Jeffrey Reddick, Judges

Los Angeles County High School Students Submit a 15 second creative clip telling us "Why they want to be a filmmaker?"

Open Submissions:

Open Submissions: May 21st - May 29th

Members submit one 15 second creative clip telling us “Why they want to be a filmmaker?”

Note: Available only for high school students in Los Angeles County.

Members Weigh-in

Members Weigh-in: May 21st - May 30th

Members weigh in on videos by favoriting and liking. Taking these into account plus views, a content score representing “Member Appreciation” is generated.

Finalists Announced

Finalists Announced: May 30th

10 Filmmakers whose scenes have highest “Member Appreciation” become finalists.

Judges Decide

Judges Decide: May 30th

TentSquare Founder and Film Producer Andrew van den Houten and Creator of the "Final Destination" Film Franchise Jeffrey Reddick help select a winner.

Winner Announced May 30th

Best Video Submission

$250 Cash Given at Award Ceremony, Video Screened at Los Angeles Student Film Festival.

Note: Select submissions will be included in a two minute video that will be played at the festival.

Entry Fee:
No Entry Fee

About Los Angeles Student Film Festival:

May 30th at the El Portal Theatre in North Hollywood, the Los Angeles Student Film Festival is hosted by L.A. City Councilmember Paul Krekorian.

The festival allows young filmmakers to tell their stories without adhering to the traditional means of filmmaking. With the proliferation of digital media, young filmmakers are no longer restricted by the old cinematic paradigm. Instead, students are free to tell their stories with a cell phone, a computer and just about anything else that comes to mind.

Buy Tickets Now!